Are you having a good time?

Reflections on Finding Joy in the Pursuit of Your Dream Life

Are you truly enjoying the pursuit of your dream life, or are you just going through the motions hoping that tomorrow will magically bring some sense of fulfilment?

More importantly, is what you're pursuing genuinely your dream life, or have you built a fragile vision shaped by society's narrow definition of success?

These were some of the questions I was pondering yesterday during a marathon flight from Melbourne to Milan. On a 25-hour journey, there’s no escaping your thoughts.

I took this photo yesterday while walking the streets of Milan. There’s no way you could convince me that modern architecture is better than this.

For a long time, I prioritised pursuing my ambition at all costs. I valued being practical and pragmatic without any regard for whether I’m enjoying the process or not.

I believed that enduring pain was the price I had to pay to earn a better life. However, my perspective shifted when it became painfully clear that something had to change before I turned into a lifeless robot.

The relentless pursuit of progress is a flawed and counterproductive approach that ultimately undermines its intended goal: achieving a better life.

While "a better life" means different things for different people, the most prevalent definition of success tends to be one-dimensional. It often leads to progress in one area at the expense of others, overlooking the long-term negative consequences.

On the other hand, the spiritual approach advocated by those on the opposite end of the spectrum promotes balance, health, and connection with nature and people. But even this can be taken too far, leading to passivity, unrealised potential, and a stagnant life.

Surrendering to the universe doesn’t mean abandoning your dreams. It’s about giving your best while remaining at peace with the prospect of failure. This balance keeps you focused, resilient, and unshaken by outcomes beyond your control.

Both perspectives have their merits, but we overlook a simple truth: we don’t need to choose one over the other. I believe that at the heart of our struggles is our inability to hold two opposing ideas at once and make both of them work to our advantage.

Consider this: you can aim for a promotion at work while also being perfectly fine if it doesn’t happen. When your self-worth hinges on a specific outcome in one area of life, struggle and pain become inevitable.

Many of our challenges and anxieties can disappear if we realise that we could want something deeply while remaining utterly indifferent to whether or not we achieve it.

This detachment is a subtle power that frees us from the emotional turmoil that desire can breed. It positions us to act with greater clarity and control.

So, If you're not enjoying what you're doing, something needs to change—and it needs to happen now, not later. There’s no such thing as 'later.' When you realise how short life is, a new perspective begins to take hold.

If you enjoyed this, share it with a friend.

Until next time, keep creating!

Omara

If you’d like to have a chat about how I can help you grow your brand and attract new clients on LinkedIn, reply to this email or book a call here.

"Before I met Omara, I struggled to find and convert leads into paying clients. One month later, I had more leads, paying customers, and increased my revenue by 50%. He's my go-to LinkedIn marketing expert." —Venzo Chaar